Nymphea

Pond plants

The diversity in your pond

 

Eriophorum russeolum

Worth knowing

Our pond plants are strong, hardy and have been selected to thrive in hard water environments. The 80 or so, mostly native wild species will give your pond the necessary plant diversity. Some are threatened with extinction in the wild and are highly protected species. They are usually ‘hunger artists’ and thrive well in ponds with nutrient poor substrate.

Benefits of pond plants

Aquatic plants have a variety of tasks in your pond. They clarify the water, please us with beautiful flowers and are appreciated as a visual screens. They offer wildlife protection and are often used for egg laying or disembarkation, e.g. of the dragonfly larvae. Each plant has its role in the pond.

Diversity for the ideal balance

A wide variety of different aquatic plants provide the ideal balance in your garden or swimming pond. Plant diversity sustains life in the pond and the interaction in your habitat.

Selecting the right pond plants

When selecting pond plants please consider the size and planting zones of your pond.  In small ponds avoid plants which spread too widely.

We suggest to choose strong plants without fertilizer depots, so that no additional nutrients get in your pond, as they stimulate the growth of algae.

Pay attention to the compatibility of hard water environments and the hardiness of the pond plants, so that your pond becomes more beautiful every year and you do not have to replace them continuously.

Planting instructions

Pond plants should always be taken from the pot and planted into the pond substrate, so that they can grow optimally. Their ideal planting depth and and the amount they spread should be taken into consideration.

If you follow the symbols on our plant labels (planting area, height, spread, flowering period), you will certainly find the right place for your plants.  In small ponds avoid plants which spread a lot or plan a barrier for them.

When planting a new pond, water should be filled as soon as possible. Especially water lilies and oxygen plants are extremely vulnerable to drought and can be damaged in a short time.
Pond plants can thrive best when they are planted into the pond substrate.

Planting water lilies

Water lilies are aquatic plants and need to get into water as soon as possible. If you do not have time to plant them right away put them in your pond or a bucket full of water.

If you follow the symbols on our plant labels (setting depth, spread, florescence), you will certainly find the right place for your water lily.

Please note that water lilies do not like excessive water movement. If planted too close to waterfalls or water features they will bloom less or not at all.
Water lilies should ideally always be taken from the pot and set into the pond substrate, so that they can grow optimally. If that is not possible, the water lily should be planted in a larger pot/basket so that it can develop, using heavy, nutrient-rich soil.

You can also get bare-rooted water lilies from us. Bare-rooted water lilies should first be planted in a pot and set in warm and shallow water.
When the first roots start growing outside the bottom of the pot, the water lily can be moved deeper or planted into pond substrate. The more vigorous the water lily is, the faster it can be set or put into the final setting depth.

Care

In the first years it requires very little maintenance. If necessary, reduce competition from other plants and weeds. When the plants get bigger they should be cut, ideally in winter when the pond is frozen, just above the ice, or about 5 to 10 cm above the ground and taken away. This deprives the pond of biomass and reduces the growth of algae. In addition, the pond silts up less quickly.

THE 80 BEST WATER PLANTS
Shop

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Nymphea

Teichpflanzen

Die Vielfalt im Teich

 

Eriophorum russeolum

Wissenswertes

Wir haben die 80 besten Teichpflanzen für Sie ausgewählt. Neben der Winterhärte waren Kalkverträglichkeit und Platzbedarf wichtige Kriterien für die Selektion. Sie sind ausnahmslos Wildpflanzen und der größte Teil davon sind heimisch. Manche von ihnen sind in der freien Natur vom Aussterben bedroht und stehen unter strengem Artenschutz. Sie sind meist ‚Hungerkünstler‘ und gedeihen im nährstoffarmen Teichsubstrat bestens.

Was leisten Teichpflanzen?

Teichpflanzen haben vielfältige Aufgaben in Ihrem Teich. Sie klären das Wasser, erfreuen uns mit besonderen Blüten und werden als Sichtschutz geschätzt. Sie bieten der Tierwelt Schutz und werden zur vielfach zur Eiablage oder als Ausstiegsort z.B. von Libellenlarven genutzt. Somit hat jede Pflanze ihre Aufgabe im Teich.

Vielfalt für ein ideales Gleichgewicht

Eine große Vielfalt unterschiedlicher Teichpflanzen sorgt für das ideale Gleichgewicht in ihrem Garten- oder Schwimmteich. Die vielen unterschiedlichen Pflanzen unterstützen das Leben im Teich und das Zusammenspiel in Ihrem Biotop.

Auswahl der Pflanzen

Beachten Sie bei der Auswahl der Teichpflanzen die Größe sowie die verschiedenen Setzbereiche Ihres Teichs und vermeiden Sie zu stark ausbreitende Pflanzen in kleinen Teichen.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen kräftige Pflanzen ohne Düngerdepots zu nehmen, damit erfolgt kein zusätzlicher Nährstoffeintrag in Ihren Teich, der dann das Algenwachstum anregt.

Achten Sie auf die Verträglichkeit von kalkhaltigem Wasser und die Winterhärte der Teichpflanzen, damit ihr Teich jedes Jahr immer schöner wird und Sie nicht jedes Jahr Pflanzen nachkaufen müssen.

Setzen der Teichpflanzen

Teichpflanzen sollten immer aus dem Topf in das Teichsubstrat gesetzt werden, damit sie optimal gedeihen können, dabei sollte deren Setztiefe und Ausbreitung beachtet werden.

Wenn Sie die Symbole auf unserer Pflanzenetikette (Setzbereich, Wuchshöhe, Ausbreitung, Blühzeit) beachten, werden Sie sicherlich den richtigen Platz für Ihre Pflanzen finden.

Vermeiden Sie stark ausbreitende Pflanzen in kleinen Teichen oder planen Sie eine Barriere dafür ein.

Falls Sie einen neuen Teich besetzen, sollte das Wasser sobald als möglich eingelassen werden. Vor allem Seerosen und Klärpflanzen sind äußerst empfindlich auf Trockenheit und nehmen in kürzester Zeit Schaden.

Teichpflanzen können sich am besten entfalten wenn sie ausgetopft werden und in das Teichsubstrat gesetzt werden.

Setzen der Seerosen

Seerosen sind Wasserpflanzen und müssen alsbald ins Wasser. Falls Sie die Seerosen nicht gleich setzen können, stellen Sie sie bis dahin in den Teich oder einen Wasserkübel.

Wenn Sie die Symbole auf unserer Pflanzenetikette (Setztiefe, Ausbreitung, Blühfreudigkeit) beachten, werden Sie sicherlich den richtigen Platz für Ihre Seerosen finden.

Beachten Sie, dass Seerosen keine übermäßigen Wasserbewegungen mögen. Pflanzt man sie zu nahe an Wasserfällen oder -spielen werden sie weniger oder gar nicht blühen.

Seerosen sollten idealerweise immer aus dem Topf ins Teichsubstrat gesetzt werden, damit sie optimal gedeihen können. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, sollte die Seerose in einen größeren Topf/Korb umgesetzt werden, damit sie sich entfalten kann. Verwenden Sie hierzu eine schwere, nährstoffhaltige Erde.

Sie können bei uns auch Seerosen wurzelnackt beziehen. Wurzelnackte Seerosen, sollten zuerst in einem Topf bei niedrigem Wasserstand vorgezogen werden. Sie können dann, wenn die ersten Wurzeln unten aus dem Topf wachsen, ins Teichsubstrat ausgepflanzt werden. Je kräftige die Seerosen ist, umso rascher kann die Seerosen auf die endgültige Setztiefe gepflanzt bzw. gestellt werden.

Pflege der Teichpflanzen

In den ersten Jahren bedarf es am Teich noch wenig Pflege. Bei Bedarf den Konkurrenzdruck durch (Un-)kräuter reduzieren. Wenn die Pflanzen größer geworden sind, sollte man im Winter, idealerweise, wenn der Teich zugefroren ist, die Pflanzen direkt über dem Eis oder ca. 5 bis 10 cm über dem Boden abschneiden und wegbringen. Dies entzieht dem Teich Biomasse und reduziert damit die Algenbildung. Zudem verlandet der Teich auch weniger schnell.

DIE 80 BESTEN TEICHPFLANZEN

Details finden Sie in unserem Shop oder in unserem Buch „Die 80 besten Teichpflanzen“

zum Shop

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close