Nymphea

Waterlilies

The queen of your pond

 

Nymphaea Mangkala Ubol

Worth knowing

We have selected the best and most beautiful water lilies from over 500 varieties. Colour, shape, flower density and space requirements were important selection criteria.

Benefits of water lilies

Water lilies in full bloom are not only the centrepiece of any water feature, they also fulfil an important function. They consume nutrients and their leaves shade the water. They make life difficult for algae, which need nutrients, light and warmth to grow.

Selecting the right water lilies

When selecting water lilies consider the water depth and the space available.  Water lilies thrive and bloom best when set in ideal depth and left with enough space.  If a water lily is set too deep or too shallow, it will flower less or perhaps not at all.

Florescence

Water lilies usually flower from May to October, more or less, depending on the variety. Flower size and the daily opening time also vary with variety. Flowers vary between 3 and 25 cm. Some water lilies are already open before 9 am, others stay open until even 6 pm. Depending on the variety, a flower withers after 4-5 days. A few water lilies take a short flowering break during summer heat. In autumn, the plant retreats back to the bottom of the pond and winters underneath the ice.

Water lilies in pots and containers

Small, non-spreading, floriferous varieties are best suited for pots and containers. Make sure to select the appropriate water lilies so that you can enjoy their flowers.
Please consider that the water lily tuber must must spend the winter frost-free. If the container might freeze during winter then the whole container or just the water lily should be placed somewhere where it won’t freeze.

Planting water lilies

Water lilies are aquatic plants and need to get into water as soon as possible. If you do not have time to plant them right away put them in your pond or a bucket full of water.

If you follow the symbols on our plant labels (setting depth, spread, florescence), you will certainly find the right place for your water lily.

Please note that water lilies do not like excessive water movement. If planted too close to waterfalls or water features they will bloom less or not at all.

Water lilies should ideally always be taken from the pot and set into the pond substrate, so that they can grow optimally. If that is not possible, the water lily should be planted in a larger pot/basket so that it can develop, using heavy, nutrient-rich soil.

You can also get bare-rooted water lilies from us. Bare-rooted water lilies should first be planted in a pot and set in warm and shallow water.
When the first roots start growing outside the bottom of the pot, the water lily can be moved deeper or planted into pond substrate. The more vigorous the water lily is, the faster it can be set or put into the final setting depth.

Care

In a functioning pond, water lilies released in the pond substrate do not need any care, everything is done by nature. If it bothers you, you can cut off dead flowers and yellow leaves for beautification.
Do not tear them off as this may result in injuries that might cause blight and could lead to death of the water lilies.

Water lilies in pots or baskets should be checked regularly. To ensure growth and flowering, the container should be adapted accordingly and the water lilies regularly repotted in fresh soil. Water lilies are strong nutrient consumers and therefore need a good supply of nutrients. Water lilies extending in the pond substrate make an particular contribution to good water quality.

THE 100 MOST BEAUTIFUL WATERLILIES
Shop

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Nymphea

Seerosen

Die Königin des Teichs

 

Nymphaea Mangkala Ubol

Wissenswertes

Aus den über 500 Seerosensorten haben wir die schönsten 100 für Sie ausgewählt. Farbe, Form, Blühfreudigkeit und Platzbedarf waren wichtige Kritieren für die Selektion.

Was leisten Seerosen?

Blühende Seerosen sind nicht nur der Blickfang jeder Wasserfläche, sie haben auch eine wichtige Aufgabe. Sie sind Nährstoffzehrer und beschatten durch ihre Blätter das Wasser und machen so den Algen das Leben schwer, da diese ja Nährstoffe, Licht und Wärme brauchen.

Die Wahl der Seerose

Beachten Sie bei der Auswahl der Seerose Tiefe und Platz die für sie zur Verfügung stehen. Bei idealer Setztiefe und genügend Platz gedeihen und blühen Seerosen am besten. Wird eine Seerose zu tief oder zu seicht gesetzt, wird sie weniger oder gar nicht blühen.

Blüte der Seerosen

Seerosen blühen meist von Mai bis Oktober, je nach Sorte mehr oder weniger. Ihre Blütengröße, sowie die Öffnungszeiten der Blüte hängt ebenfalls von der Sorte ab. Es gibt Blüten zwischen 3 und 25 cm. Einige Seerosen sind bereits vor 9 Uhr geöffnet andere bleiben sogar bis 18 Uhr offen. Je nach Sorte verblüht eine Blüte nach ca. 4-5 Tagen. Es gibt auch Seerosen die im Sommer eine kurze Blühpause einlegen. Im Herbst zieht sich die Pflanze dann auf den Teichgrund zurück und überwintert unter der Eisdecke.

Seerosen in Gefäßen und Behältern

Für Gefäße und Behälter sollten geeignetet Seerosen gewählt werden damit Sie sich an den Blüten erfreuen können. Es gibt stationäre, blühfreudige Sorten, die bestens für Gefäße und Behälter geeignet sind.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Rhizom der Seerose frostfrei überwintern muss. Falls der Behälter ganz durchfrieren könnte, sollte dieser oder die Seerose frostfrei überwintert werden.

Setzen der Seerosen

Seerosen sind Wasserpflanzen und müssen alsbald ins Wasser. Falls Sie die Seerosen nicht gleich setzen können, stellen Sie sie bis dahin in den Teich oder einen Wasserkübel.

Wenn Sie die Symbole auf unserer Pflanzenetikette (Setztiefe, Ausbreitung, Blühfreudigkeit) beachten, werden Sie sicherlich den richtigen Platz für Ihre Seerosen finden.

Beachten Sie, dass Seerosen keine übermäßigen Wasserbewegungen mögen. Pflanzt man sie zu nahe an Wasserfällen oder -spielen werden sie weniger oder gar nicht blühen.

Seerosen sollten idealerweise immer aus dem Topf ins Teichsubstrat gesetzt werden, damit sie optimal gedeihen können. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, sollte die Seerose in einen größeren Topf/Korb umgesetzt werden, damit sie sich entfalten kann. Verwenden Sie hierzu eine schwere, nährstoffhaltige Erde.

Sie können bei uns auch Seerosen wurzelnackt beziehen. Wurzelnackte Seerosen, sollten zuerst in einem Topf bei niedrigem Wasserstand vorgezogen werden. Sie können dann, wenn die ersten Wurzeln unten aus dem Topf wachsen, ins Teichsubstrat ausgepflanzt werden. Je kräftige die Seerosen ist, umso rascher kann die Seerosen auf die endgültige Setztiefe gepflanzt bzw. gestellt werden.

Welche Pflege brauchen Seerosen?

Eigentlich brauchen ausgesetzte Seerosen in einem funktionierenden Teich keine Pflege, es macht alles die Natur. Falls es Sie stört, können Sie abgestorbene Blüten oder gelbe Blätter als optische Kosmetik abschneiden.

Reißen führt zu Verletzungen, die zu Knollenfäule und damit zum Tod der Seerosen führen kann.

Seerosen in Töpfen oder Körben sollten regelmäßig auf genügend Platz kontrolliert werden und das Gefäß entsprechend angepasst und die Seerosen regelmäßig in frische Erde umgetopft werden. Seerosen sind starke Nährstoffzehrer und brauchen daher eine gute Versorgung mit Nährstoffen. Seerosen, die sich im Teichsubstrat entfalten, leisten einen besonders wichtigen Beitrag zur guten Wasserqualität.

DIE 100 SCHÖNSTEN SEEROSEN

Details finden Sie in unserem Shop oder in unserem Buch „Die 100 schönsten Seerosen“

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close